Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana Book 8 Chapter 13:23-36

Book 8: Chapter 13

Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana: Book 8: Chapter 13: Verses 23-36
An account of the (concluding eight) Manvantaras

Born with a part of His divine essence in the house of Viswasrk through Visuci under the name of Viswaksena, the almighty Lord will actually make friends with Sambhu (the then Indra). The high-minded Dharmasavarni will be the eleventh Manu; while Satyadharma and others are going to be his ten sons. the Vihangamas, the Kamagamas and the Nirvanarucis are going to be the (orders of) gods (in office) and Vaidhrta will be their Indra (ruler); while Aruna and others[1] will be the seers. A part manifestation of Sri Hari, born of Vaidhrta through Aryaka, and known by the name of Dharmasetu, will maintain the three worlds.

Rudrasavarni, O king, will be the twelfth Manu; and Devavan, Upadeva, Devasrestha and others will be his sons. Again, Rtadhama will be (the name of) the Indra and the Haritas and so on will be the (orders of) gods. And Tapomurti, Tapaswi, Agnidhraka and others will be the (seven) seers. The almighty son of Satyasaha and Sunrta, Swadhama by name, a part manifestation of Sri Hari, will protect that Manvantara. The high-souled Devasavarni will be the thirteenth Manu; (and) Citrasena, Vicitra and others will be the sons of Devasavarni. The (orders of) gods bearing the names of Sukarmas and Sutramas will remain in office, while Diwaspati will hold the office of Indra. (Even so) Nirmoka, Tattvadarsa, and so on will be the (seven) Rsis [2] in that Manvantara. A part manifestation of Sri Hari, Yogeswara (by name), will be born of Brhati as the son of Devahotra and will (prove to) be the benefactor of Indra (the ruler of heaven).

Indeed Indrasavarni will come to be the fourteenth Manu; while Uru,Gambhirabuddhi and so on will be the sons of Indrasavarni. The Pavitras and the Caksusas will be the (orders of) gods and Suci will be (the name of) the Indra. (Even so) Agnibahu, Suci, Suddha, Magadha and so on will be the (seven) ascetics (sages[3] in office). Born as the son of Satrayana, Brhadbhanu (by name), through Vitana, O great king, Sri Hari will propagate the rituals O king, these fourteen Manvantaras-covering the past, present and future-have been described to you. It is by these that a Kalpa-consisting of a thousand revolutions of the (four) Yugas (Satya,Treta, Dwapara and Kali)-is measured.

Thus ends the thirteenth discourse entitled "A description of the (concluding eight) Manvantaras", in Book Eight of the great and glorious Bhagavata-Purana, otherwise known as the Paramahamsa-Samhita.


  1. The Harivamsa mentions the following as the seven Rsis holding office in the eleventh Manvantara: Havisman, Vapusman, Aruna, Anagha, Urudhi, Niscara and Agniteja.
  2. Nirmoka, Tattvadarai, Niskampa, Nirutsuka, Dhrtiman, Avyaya and Sutapa are the names of the seven Rsis of the thirteenth Manvantara according to the Harivamsa.
  3. The seven seers in the fourteenth Manvantara, according to the Harivam§a, are: Agnidhra, Magadha, Agnibahu, Suci, Mukta, Suddha and Ajita.

Related Articles