Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana Book 8 Chapter 13:1-22

Book 8: Chapter 13

Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana: Book 8: Chapter 13: Verses 1-22
An account of the (concluding eight) Manvantaras

Sri Suka began again: The seventh, the present Manu is a son of Vivaswan (the sun-god), who is known by the name of Sraddhadeva. (Now) hear from me (the names) of his sons. They are Ikswaku and Nabhaga, Dhrsta and Saryati, Narisyanta and Nabhaga; and the seventh is called Dista. Add to them Karusa and Prsadhra and the tenth is remembered by the name of Vasuman.These are the ten sons of the Vaivaswata Manu, O tormentor of foes! The (twelve) Adityas (the sons of Aditi, the gods successively presiding over the sun month after month), the (eight) Vasus, the (eleven) Rudras, the (ten) Viswedevas, the (forty-nine) Maruts (wind-gods), the two Aswins (the twin physicians of the gods) and the (three) Rbhus are the (seven orders of) gods (in office), O Pariksit, Purandara being (the name of) their Indra (ruler). Kasyapa, Atri and Vasistha, Viswamitra, Gautama, Jamadagni and Bharadwaja are recognized as the seven (principal) seers. In this (the present) Manvantara too the descent of the Lord took place from the sage Kasyapa (a lord of the created beings)and (his spouse) Aditi. The youngest of the Adityas, who assumed the form of a dwarf, is Lord Visnu ( Himself). Thus (the first) seven Manvantaras have been briefly described by me to you. I shall presently tell you of the coming (seven) as well, which are (likewise) connected with the descents of the Lord.

Now, there were two wives of Vivaswan, both daughters of Viswakarma (the architect of heaven), Samjna and Chaya (by name), O king of kings, that have already[1] been spoken of (by me) to you. Some refer to Vadava as the third.[2] Of these (three), Yama (the god of retribution), Yami (sister of Yama, the deity presiding over the river Yamuna and married[3] by Lord Sri Krsna) and Sraddhadeva are the three progeny of Samjna. Also hear (the names) of the sons of Chaya. (9) They are Savarni (a future Manu) and a daughter, Tapati (by name), who became the wife of Samvarana and Sanaiscara (the deity presiding over the planet of the same name, now known as Saturn) came to be the third; while the two Aswins are the sons of Vadava. When the eighth Manvantara will have commenced Savarni will become the Manu (in relation to that Manvantara); and Nirmoka, Virajaska and others will be the sons of Savarni, O protector of human beings! In that (the eighth) Manvantara, the Sutapas,(the Virajas and the Amrtaprabhas will be the (three orders of) gods (in office); and the demon Bali, the son of Virocana (Prahrada's son) will be their Indra (ruler).

Having (already) gifted (in the current Manvantara the whole of) this earth to Lord Visnu (in the form of the divine Dwarf) when the latter asked for land measuring (not more than) three paces, and relinquishing the office of Indra (which will be) attained by him (through the grace of the Lord in the next Manvantara), he will then achieve perfection (in the form of final beatitude). He is the same Bali who was (first) bound by the Lord as a token of pleasures and then installed in (the subterranean region of) Sutala, which is (even) richer than heaven, and where he continues to this day like (another) lndra.[4] Galava, Diptiman, Rama (Paraaurama), Aswatthama (the son of Dronacarya, a preceptor of the Kauravas), Krpacarya (another preceptor of the Kauravas), Rsyasrnga (who officiated at the sacrifice performed by Emperor Dasaratha for obtaining progeny) and our father, the divine Vedavyasa (who has his abode in a grove of jujube trees)-these will be the seven seers in that (the eighth) Manvantara by virtue of their Yogic attainments. At present they are (all) living each in his own hermitage. (15-16) Sprung from the loins of Devaguhya through Saraswati, the Lord will be known as Sarvabhauma. Wresting the throne (of heaven) from Purandara (the present Indra), the all-powerful Lord will bestow it on Bali.

Daksasavarni, son of Varuna (the god of water) will be the ninth Manu. Bhutaketu, Diptaketu and others will be his sons, O protector of human beings. The Paras, the Maricigarbhas and so on will be the (orders of) gods and Adbhuta has been declared to be their Indra (ruler). Again, Dyutiman and others[5] will be the (seven) seers in that Manvantara. Sprung from (the loins of) Ayusman through Ambudhara, an emanation of the Lord will appear under the name of Rsabha. (And) Adbhuta will rule over the three worlds conquered (on his behalf) by (the said) Rsabha. The great Brahmasavarni, son of Upasloka, will be the tenth Manu. Bhurisena and others will be his sons and Havisman and soon will be the (seven) Brahmana sages. Havisman, Sukrti, Satya, Jaya and Marti will be (the names of some of) the Brahmana sages in that Manvantara. The Suvasanas and the Viruddhas will be the (orders of) gods (in office) and Sambhu will be the Indra (the ruler of the gods).



  1. Vide VI. Vi. 40-41.
  2. According to Suka, however, it was Samjna herself who took the form of a Vadava (mare) and gave birth to the two Aswins-vide VI. vi.40.
  3. Vide. X. 58. 17-23, 29.
  4. A reference to the story of Bali's overthrow, told at length in Discourses XiX to XXIII below, will show that the Lord divested Bali of his sovereignty of the three worlds only in order to shower His grace on him.
  5. According to the Harivamsa, Savanna, Dyutiman, Harvya, Vasu, Medhatithi, Jyotisman and Satya are the names of the seven seers holding office in the ninth Manvantara.

Related Articles