Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana Book 6 Chapter 6:1-19

Book 6: Chapter 6

Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana: Book 6: Chapter 6: Verses 1-19
The posterity of Daksa through his sixty daughters

Sri Suka resumed : Pacified and prevailed upon by Brahma (the self-born), Daksa (the son of the Pracetas) then begot through Asikni (his wife) sixty daughters, who were (very) affectionate towards their father. He gave away ten (of them) to Dharma (the god of piety), thirteen to the sage Kasyapa (son of Marici), thrice nine (twenty-seven) to the moon-god, two each to the sages Bhuta, Angira and Krsaswa and the rest (again) to Kasyapa (who is also known by the name of Tarksya). (Now) hear you from me their names as well as of their offspring, by whose children and their descendants (all) the three worlds (heaven, earth and the intermediate region) were filled on all sides.Bhanu, Lamba, Kakubh, Jami, Viswa, Sadhya, Marutvati, Vasu, Muhurta and Sankalpa were (the names of) Dharma's wives; (now) hear (the names) of their sons. Of Bhanu,: in the first instance was born Devarsabha and from (the loins of) Devarsabha, sprang up Indrasena. (Even so) Vidyota was the son of Lamba and from (the loins of) Vidyota appeared (the spirits presiding over) the clouds. (Again), the son of Kakubh was Sankata and Sankata's son was Kikata, from whom appeared (the spirits presiding over) the fortresses on earth. (Similarly) Swarga was the son of Jami and from (the loins of) Swarga appeared Nandi. The sons of Viswa were the Viswedevas (a group of gods, ten in number); the learned speak of them as issueless. Again, the group (of gods) called the Sadhyas was born of Sadhya and Arthasiddhi was (the name of) their son.

Marutvan and Jayanta were born of Marutvati; (of these) Jayanta was a part manifestation of Lord Vasudeva (Visnu); he is (also) known by the name of Upendra. Again, a race of gods called the Mauhurtikas (the deities presiding over the thirty Muhurtas--each consisting of 48 minutes-comprised in every twenty-four hours) was born of Muhurta. They actually dispense to (all) living beings the fruit (of their actions) appropriate to the division of time presided over by each. Of Sankalpa, again, was born Sankalpa (the deity presiding over thoughts); (and) Kama (the god of love) has been declared to be the progeny of Sankalpa. The eight Vasus (another group of gods) are the sons of Vasu; (now) hear their names from me;--(They are) Drona, Prana, Dhruva, Arka, Agni, Dosa, Vasu and Vibhavasu. (And) of Abhimati, the wife of Drona, were born Harsa, Soka, Bhaya and others (the deities presiding over the emotions of joy, grief, fear and so on). Urjaswati was (the name of) the wife of Prana; and Saha, Ayu and Purojava, his sons. (And) Dhruva's wife, Dharani, bore (the deities presiding over) the various cities and towns. Vasana (the deity presiding over latent desires was (the name of) the wife of Arka and Tarsa (the deity presiding over excessive longing) and others are known-to be his sons. (Similarly) Dhara is (the name of) the Vasu named Agni and Dravinaka and others are his sons. Skanda (the god Kartikeya) was the son of Krttika (the other wife of Agni); while (the gods) Visakha and others sprang up from (the loins of) Skanda. The son of Dosa through Sarvari (the deity presiding over nights) was (known by the name of) Sisumara (the deity presiding over the stellar sphere, already described in Book V as resembling a dolphin in shape), a scintillation of Sri Hari. Viswakarma (the architect of the gods), the husband of Akrti, was the son of Vasu through Angirasi (a daughter of the sage Angira). From (the loins of) Viswakarma appeared Caksusa (the sixth) Manu; (the group of gods called) the Viswedevas and the Sadhyas are the sons of Caksusa Manu. Usa, the wife of Vibhavasu, gave birth to (three sons,) Vyusta, Rocis and Atapa. From (the loins of) Atapa sprang up Pancayama[1](the deity presiding over the daytime), because of whom (all) living beings remain awake and engaged in (their) activities. Again, Sarupa, the (first) wife of Bhuta, brought forth the Rudras (a class of gods presiding over destruction) in crores. Of these, Raivata, Aja, Bhava, Bhima, Varna, Ugra, Vrsakapi, Ajaikapada, Ahirbudhnya, Bahurupa and Mahan were the foremost. And the terrible attendants of Rudra (appearing in the aforesaid eleven principal forms), (viz.,) the Pretas (spirits) and Vinayakas (a class of evil-minded demigods), were distinct from the Rudras (being born of the other wife of Bhuta). Again, the wife of Angira, a lord of created beings, Swadha (by name), accepted the manes for her sons; while (his other wife) Sati adopted Atharvaveda (the fourth Veda, henceforth known by the name of Atharvangirasa) as her son.



  1. The deity presiding over the daytime Is called Pancayama because the period of time presided over by him consists on an average of five Yamas or fifteen hours including Pratyusa and Pradosa, the morning and evening hours, leaving only three Yamas or nine hours for the night which is therefore called Triyarna.

Related Articles