Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana Book 5 Chapter 20:37-46

Book 5: Chapter 20

Srimad Bhagvata Mahapurana: Book 5: Chapter 20: Verses 37-46
A description of the other six Dwipas and the mountain-range called Lokaloka

That mountain has been placed by the Almighty beyond the three worlds (heaven, earth and the intermediate region) as a boundary extending on all sides. And it is so high and extensive that the rays of the multitudes of heavenly bodies from the sun (right) up to the pole-star, enveloping (illuminating) as they do (all) the three worlds on this side, are never able to reach the other side. [1]Thus far has been reckoned to be the disposition of the terrestrial world by the learned with (particular) reference to the extent, distinctive character and configuration (of its various parts). As for the region extending from Mount Sumeru to the aforesaid Lokaloka mountain, it covers a quarter of the entire diameter of the terrestrial globe, which is calculated to be fifty crore Yojanas (or four thousand million miles). Beyond that mountain live the (four) great elephants-Rsabha, Puskaracuda, Vamana and Aparajita by name-that have been posted in the four quarters by Brahma (the self-born), the adored of the whole universe, and are (held) responsible for maintaining (the balance of) the entire globe. By way of augmenting the various powers of those elephants as well as of the guardians of the world (Indra and others)-who are (partial) manifestations of the Lord's own glory-and for the welfare of all the worlds, the almighty Lord, the supremely exalted Person, the Possessor of the highest glory, the inner Controller, dwells on all sides on this great mountain, surrounded by His foremost attendants. Viswaksena and others, and manifesting His divine form (consisting of Sattva unmixed with Rajas and Tamas), characterized by (supreme) virtue, omniscience, (the highest form of) dispassion, omnipotence and other divine attributes as well as by the eight superhuman powers (such as that of assuming a form as minute as an atom) and distinguished by His (four) stout arms-adorned with His own (characteristic) weapons (conch, discus and others).

What I mean is that the Lord has assumed the aforesaid form for the maintenance of the career of the various worlds evolved by His own Yogamaya (wonderful creative energy). The extent of Aloka (the region not illuminated by the sun's rays) too, which stretches on the other side of the Lokaloka mountain, has been explained by (as equal to) the extent of the area falling on this side (of the said mountain). Beyond Aloka the learned declare (the existence of) the sacred region which can be traversed only by Masters of Yoga (divine personages). (The orb of) the sun is located in the middle of the egg (of this universe), which corresponds to the centre of space lying between the upper and lower shells of the cosmic egg. The (extent of) space between (the orb of) the sun and (the outer shell of) the cosmic egg (on all sides) is twenty-five crore Yojanas (or two thousand million miles). Because the sun-god appeared in this lifeless (inanimate) egg (as the Cosmic Being), the appellation of Martanda ( has been applied to him (ever) since. He is (also) called Hiranyagarbha in as much as he (as the sun) represents the embryo (located) in (the centre of) the golden egg (of this universe). By the sun indeed are divided (clearly defined) the quarters, the heavens, the celestial region, the earth and (other such) distinctions (divisions), the worlds[2] of enjoyment and supreme bliss (final beatitude), the infernal regions (where one undergoes tortures of various kinds), the subterranean worlds (Atala and so on) and all (other divisions). Of gods and human beings as well as of the subhuman creatures (that are oblong in shape), of reptiles and plants (the vegetable kingdom), nay of all species of living beings, the sun-god is the very Self (the animating spirit) as well as the deity presiding over their eyesight.

Thus ends the twentieth discourse-delineating the relative position, extent and distinctive character of the oceans and Varsas as a part on the description of the terrestrial world-in Book Five of the great and glorious Bhagavata-Purana, otherwise known as the Paramahamsa-Samhita.


  1. [564] B. M. 24--
  2. Of the six spheres above the terrestrial globe, the first two viz., the aerial world (Bhuvarloka) and the heavenly sphere (Swarloka) are the worlds of enjoyment; whereas the tour higher spheres (the Maharloka, the Janaloka, the Tapoloka and the Satyaloka or Brahmatoka are the regions inhabited by those (Rsis and others) who either enjoy supreme bliss (Jivanmukti) or strive for the same, turning their back on the pleasures of sense, with which they are abundantly provided.

Related Articles