Srimad Bhagavad Gita -Ramanujacharya 508

Srimad Bhagavad Gita -Ramanujacharya

Chapter-17 Śraddhā-traya-vibhāga Yogaḥ

The Three Classifications of Conviction


Summary of the Teaching

In the [previous] chapter, after expounding the division [of beings] into two classes — Divine and Non-divine, it was revealed that the knowledge of Reality and the means for acquiring it have their source in the Vedas alone. Now [in this chapter] it will be taught that whatever is not enjoined by the Scriptures is ineffectual, because it is ‘non-divine’, furthermore actions enjoined by the Scriptures are categorised into three kinds according to the Gunas. The definition of what [exactly] is established in the Scriptures will also be given.

Arjuna, unable to understand why works not enjoined by the Scriptures are futile, sincerely asks about the different kinds of results, in terms of the three Gunas, arising from works such as sacrifices that are not enjoined in the Scriptures, but are done with conviction: —

arjuna uvāca

ye śāstra vidhim utsṛjya yajante śraddhayānvitāḥ |
teṣāṃ niṣṭhā tu kā kṛṣṇa satvam āho rajas tamaḥ || 1 ||

Arjuna said

1. What is the position O Krishna of those who disregard the injunctions of the Shastra, yet
worship with conviction (śraddhā)? Is it Sattva, Rajas or Tamas'?


References and Context