Lord Krishna -Sivananda 172

Lord Krishna (His Lilas and Teachings) -Swami Sivananda

Part 2


Glory of Satsanga

Thus the speech is My manifestation. Action, motion, excretion, smelling, tasting, seeing, touching, heating, cogitation, knowledge, the faculties of desire or will, discrimination, judgment, identification, Sutra or the cosmic intelligence or energy, the modifications of Sattva, Rajas and Tamas - all these are similarly My manifestations.
This Isvara is one, unmanifested or undifferentiated in the beginning. But as He is the resort or support of the three Gunas, as He is the cause of the lotus of the universe, He becomes differentiated in time and appears as many, just as a seed thrown into the earth produces many offshoots and exhibits many forms.
Just as a piece of cloth exists in threads, so also this universe rests on the Atman as Its warp and woof. This tree of Samsara is a very old one without a beginning. Activity is its nature. It produces flowers [1] and fruits [2] and Moksha [3]. It has got two seeds [4], a hundred roots [5], three trunks [6] and eleven minor branches (the ten organs and the mind); it yields five kinds of essence [7]; it has a nest for the two birds [8], three barks; [9], Pitta [10], Sleshma [11] or the nervous, bilious and phlegmatic temperaments; and two fruits [12] and extends up to the Sun. He who goes beyond the Sun’s sphere is not subject to rebirth.
The vultures living in villages [13] eat one of the fruits i.e., misery; those who live in the forest [14] and who are full of discrimination and wisdom and hence called Hamsas [15] eat the other i.e., enjoy the eternal bliss of the Atman. He who, through the favour of his Guru, knows the one Lord as becoming many through Maya, knows the Truth and understands the Vedas.
With the axe of knowledge sharpened by the one-pointed devotion acquired by the service and worship of the Guru, do thou calmly and steadily cut asunder this tree of Samsara and on attaining Paramatman do thou lay down thy weapon i.e., stop your endeavour to attain Self-realisation.



  1. Karma
  2. i.e., enjoyment
  3. the fruits of Karma
  4. virtue and vice
  5. countless desires
  6. Sattva, Rajas, Tamas
  7. sound, touch, form, taste and smell
  8. Jiva and Paramatman
  9. the three humours Vatha wind
  10. bile
  11. phlegm
  12. pleasure and pain
  13. Gridhras i.e., the greedy householders who are attached to domestic life
  14. Sannyasins
  15. swans