Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 699

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

Conclusion—The Perfection of Renunciation
Chapter 18: Verse- 19

jnänam karma ca kartä ca tridhaiva guna-bhedatah
procyate guna-sankhyäne yathävac chrnu täny api[1]


According to the three different modes of material nature, there are three kinds of knowledge, action and performer of action. Now hear of them from Me.


In the Fourteenth Chapter the three divisions of the modes of material nature were elaborately described. In that chapter it was said that the mode of goodness is illuminating, the mode of passion materialistic, and the mode of ignorance conducive to laziness and indolence. All the modes of material nature are binding; they are not sources of liberation. Even in the mode of goodness one is conditioned. In the Seventeenth Chapter, the different types of worship by different types of men in different modes of material nature were described. In this verse, the Lord says that He wishes to speak about the different types of knowledge, workers and work itself according to the three material modes.



  1. jnänam=knowledge; karma=work; ca=also; kartä=worker; ca=also; tridhä=of three kinds; eva=certainly; guna-bhedatah=in terms of different modes of material nature; procyate=are said; guna-sankhyäne=in terms of different modes; yathä-vat=as they are; srnu=hear; täni=all of them; api=also.

Related Articles