Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 680

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

Conclusion—The Perfection of Renunciation
Chapter 18: Verse- 1

arjuna uväca sannyäsasya mahä-bäho
tattvam icchämi veditum tyägasya ca Hrsikesa
prthak kesi-nisüdana[1]


Arjuna said: O mighty-armed one, I wish to understand the purpose of renunciation [tyäga] and of the renounced order of life [sannyäsa], O killer of the Kesi demon, master of the senses.


Actually the Bhagavad-gita is finished in seventeen chapters. The Eighteenth Chapter is a supplementary summarization of the topics discussed before. In every chapter of Bhagavad-gita, Lord krsna stresses that devotional service unto the Supreme Personality of Godhead is the ultimate goal of life. This same point is summarized in the Eighteenth Chapter as the most confidential path of knowledge. In the first six chapters, stress was given to devotional service: yoginäm api sarvesam. “Of all yogis or transcendentalists, one who always thinks of Me within himself is best.” In the next six chapters, pure devotional service and its nature and activity were discussed.



  1. arjunah uväca=Arjuna said; sannyäsasya=of renunciation; mahä-bäho=O mighty-armed one; tattvam=the truth; icchämi=I wish; veditum=to understand; tyägasya=of renunciation; ca=also; Hrsikesa=O master of the senses; prthak=differently; kesi-nisüdana=O killer of the Kesi demon.

Related Articles