Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 654

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

The Divisions of Faith
Chapter 17: Verse- 1

arjuna uväca ye sästra-vidhim utsrjya
yajante sraddhayänvitäh tesamnisthä tu käkrsna
sattvam äho rajas tamah[1]


Arjuna inquired: O Krsna, what is the situation of those who do not follow the principles of scripture but worship according to their own imagination? Are they in goodness, in passion or in ignorance?


In the Fourth Chapter, thirty-ninth verse, it is said that a person faithful to a particular type of worship gradually becomes elevated to the stage of knowledge and attains the highest perfectional stage of peace and prosperity. In the Sixteenth Chapter it is concluded that one who does not follow the principles laid down in the scriptures is called an asura, demon, and one who follows the scriptural injunctions faithfully is called a deva, or demigod. Now, if one, with faith, follows some rules which are not mentioned in the scriptural injunctions, what is his position? This doubt of Arjuna’s is to be cleared by Krsna.

Are those who create some sort of God by selecting a human being and placing their faith in him worshiping in goodness, passion or ignorance? Do such persons attain the perfectional stage of life? Is it possible for them to be situated in real knowledge and elevate themselves to the highest perfectional stage? Do those who do not follow the rules and regulations of the scriptures but who have faith in something and worship gods and demigods and men attain success in their effort? Arjuna is putting these questions to Krsna.



  1. arjunah uväca=Arjuna said; ye=those who; sästra-vidhim=the regulations of scripture; utsrjya=giving up; yajante=worship; sraddhayä=full faith; anvitäh=possessed of; tesam=of them; nisthä=the faith; tu=but; kä=what; krsna=O Krsna; sattvam=in goodness; äho=or else; rajah=in passion; tamah=in ignorance.

Related Articles