Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 649

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

The Divine And Demoniac Natures
Chapter 16: Verse- 21

tri-vidham narakasyedam dvaram nasanam atmanah
kämah krodhas tathä lobhas tasmäd etat trayam tyajet[1]


There are three gates leading to this hell—lust, anger and greed. Every sane man should give these up, for they lead to the degradation of the soul.


The beginning of demoniac life is described herein. One tries to satisfy his lust, and when he cannot, anger and greed arise. A sane man who does not want to glide down to the species of demoniac life must try to give up these three enemies, which can kill the self to such an extent that there will be no possibility of liberation from this material entanglement.



  1. tri-vidham=of three kinds; narakasya=of hell; idam=this; dväram=gate;
    näsanam=destructive; ätmanah=of the self; kämah=lust; krodhah=anger; tathä=as well as; lobhah=greed; tasmät=therefore; etat=these;
    trayam=three; tyajet=one must give up.

Related Articles