Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 590

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

The Three Modes Of Material Nature
Chapter 14: Verse-11

sarva-dväresu dehe ’smin prakäsa upajäyate
jnänam yadä tadä vidyäd vivrddham sattvam ity uta[1]


The manifestations of the mode of goodness can be experienced when all the gates of the body are illuminated by knowledge.


There are nine gates in the body: two eyes, two ears, two nostrils, the mouth, the genitals and the anus. When every gate is illuminated by the symptoms of goodness, it should be understood that one has developed the mode of goodness. In the mode of goodness, one can see things in the right position, one can hear things in the right position, and one can taste things in the right position. One becomes cleansed inside and outside. In every gate there is development of the symptoms of happiness, and that is the position of goodness.



  1. sarva-dväresu=in all the gates; dehe asmin=in this body; prakäsah=the
    quality of illumination; upajäyate=develops; jnänam=knowledge; yadä=when; tadä=at that time; vidyät=know; vivrddham=increased;
    sattvam=the mode of goodness; iti uta=thus it is said.

Related Articles