Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 584

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

The Three Modes Of Material Nature
Chapter 14: Verse-5

sattavm rajas tama iti gunäh prakrti-sambhaväh
nibadhnanti mahä-bäho dehe dehinam avyayam[1]


Material nature consists of three modes—goodness, passion and ignorance. When the eternal living entity comes in contact with nature, O mighty-armed Arjuna, he becomes conditioned by these modes.


The living entity, because he is transcendental, has nothing to do with this material nature. Still, because he has become conditioned by the material world, he is acting under the spell of the three modes of material nature. Because living entities have different kinds of bodies, in terms of the different aspects of nature, they are induced to act according to that nature. This is the cause of the varieties of happiness and distress.



  1. sattvam=the mode of goodness; rajah=the mode of passion; tamah=the
    mode of ignorance; iti=thus; gunäh=the qualities; prakrti=material nature; sambhaväh=produced of; nibadhnanti=do condition; mahä-bäho=O
    mighty-armed one; dehe=in this body; dehinam=the living entity; avyayam=eternal.

Related Articles