Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 307

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

Knowledge of the Absolute
Chapter 7: Verse-1

sri-bhagavän uväca
mayy äsakta-manäh pärtha yogam yunjan mad-äsrayah
asamsayam samagram mäm yathä jnäsyasi tac chrnu[1]


The Supreme Personality of Godhead said: Now hear, O son of Prthä, how by practicing yoga in full consciousness of Me, with mind attached to Me, you can know Me in full, free from doubt.


In this Seventh Chapter of Bhagavad-gita, the nature of krsna consciousness is fully described.krsnais full in all opulences, and how He manifests such opulences is described herein. Also, four kinds of fortunate people who become attached to krsn aand four kinds of unfortunate people who never take to krsna are described in this chapter. In the first six chapters of Bhagavad-gita, the living entity has been described as nonmaterial spirit soul capable of elevating himself to self-realization by different types of yogas. At the end of the Sixth Chapter, it has been clearly stated that the steady concentration of the mind upon Krsna, or in other words krsna consciousness, is the highest form of all yoga. By concentrating one’s mind upon Krsna, one is able to know the Absolute Truth completely, but not otherwise. Impersonal brahmajyoti or localized Paramätmä realization is not perfect knowledge of the Absolute Truth, because it is partial. Full and scientific knowledge is Krsna, and everything is revealed to the person in krsna consciousness. In complete krsna consciousness one knows that krsna is ultimate knowledge beyond any doubts. Different types of yoga are only steppingstones on the path of krsna consciousness. One who takes directly to krsna consciousness automatically knows about brahmajyoti and Paramätmä in full. By practice of krsna consciousness yoga, one can know everything in full—namely the Absolute Truth, the living entities, the material nature, and their manifestations with paraphernalia.



  1. sri-bhagavän uväca=the Supreme Lord said; mayi=to Me; äsakta-manäh=mind attached; pärtha=O son of Prtha yogam=self-realization; yunjan=practicing; mat-äsrayah=in consciousness of Me (Krsna consciousness); asamsayam=without doubt; samagram=completely; mäm=Me; yathä=how; jnäsyasi=you can know; tat=that; srnu=try to hear.

Related Articles