Bhagavad Gita -Srila Prabhupada 271

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita As It Is -Shri Shrimad A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

Chapter 6: Verse-13-14

samaM käya-siro-grivam
dhärayann acalam sthirah
sampreksya näsikägram svam
disas cänavalokayan
prasäntätmä vigata-bhir
brahmacäri-vrate sthitah
manahsamyamya mac-citto
yukta äsita mat-parah[1]


One should hold one’s body, neck and head erect in a straight line and stare steadily at the tip of the nose. Thus, with an unagitated, subdued mind, devoid of fear, completely free from sex life, one should meditate upon Me within the heart and make Me the ultimate goal of life.


The goal of life is to know Krsna, who is situated within the heart of every living being as Paramätmä, the four-handed Visnu form. The yoga process is practiced in order to discover and see this localized form of Visnu, and not for any other purpose. The localized Visnu-mürti is the plenary representation of Krsna dwelling within one’s heart. One who has no program to realize this Visnu-mürti is uselessly engaged in mock yoga practice and is certainly wasting his time.krsna is the ultimate goal of life, and the Visnu-mürti situated in one’s heart is the object of yoga practice. To realize this Visnu-mürti within the heart, one has to observe complete abstinence from sex life; therefore one has to leave home and live alone in a secluded place, remaining seated as mentioned above. One cannot enjoy sex life daily at home or elsewhere and attend a so-called yoga class and thus become a yogi. One has to practice controlling the mind and avoiding all kinds of sense gratification, of which sex life is the chief.



  1. samam=straight; käya=body; sirah=head; grivam=and neck; dhärayan=holding; acalam=unmoving; sthirah=still; sampreksya=looking; näsikä=of the nose; agram=at the tip; svam=own; disah=on all sides; ca=also; anavalokayan=not looking; prasänta=unagitated; ätmä=mind; vigata-bhih=devoid of fear; brahmacäri-vrate=in the vow of celibacy; sthitah=situated; manah=mind; samyamya=completely subduing; mat=upon Me (Krsna); cittah=concentrating the mind; yuktah=the actual yogi; äsita=should sit; mat=Me; parah=the ultimate goal.

Related Articles