Bhagavad Gita -Madhvacharya 229

Bhagavad Gita -Sri Madhvacharya

(Bhashya and Tatparya Nirnaya)


Chapter 9
Rajavidya-rajaguhya Yoga

Tatparya Nirnaya :- The noble minded people worship Me either in one form (as Sriman Narayana) or in four forms (as Vasudeva, Sankarshana, Pradyumna and Aniruddha) or in five forms (as Narayan, Vasudeva, Sankarshana, Pradyumna and Aniruddha) or in twelve forms (as Keshava, Narayana, Madhava, Govinda, Vishnu, Madhusudana, Trivikrama, Vamana, Sreedhara, Hrishikesha, Padmanabha, Damodara, or in twelve forms as Sankarshana, Vasudeva, Pradyumna, Aniruddha, Purushottama, Adhokshaja, Narasimha, Achyuta, Janardana, Upendra, Hari and Sri Krishna).
16 – 17 – 18 - 19. I am the ritual I am the sacrifice, I am the oblation. I am the herb. Hymns am I and also the clarified butter. I am the fire and also the offering (made therein). Father am I of the world, the mother, the supporter, the grandsire, I am the one to be known as the Pure, the AUM and also Rig, Sama, and the Yajus as well. I am the goal, the upholder, the Lord, the witness, the abode, the refugeI am the origin and th dissolution, the ground and the resting place and the imperishable seed and the friend. I create the heat and shower rains and withdraw them as well. Immortality and the mortality am I, Truth and the un-Truth am I, O Arjuna.
Bhashya :- The wisdom previously spoken is again reiterated here. Ritual means sacrifices like agnishtoma etc. Sacrifice means renunciation of wealth etc. at the feet of the Lord. “It is also been said that in reference to the Lord the renunciation of wealth etc. is Sacrifice”.